Planning a New Rig......

Thread: Planning a New Rig......

Master of Disaster

Planning a New Rig......

I want to start building a new flight-simming rig. I'm just looking for some thoughts, ideas on what is a good CPU for P3D and FSX. This is the CPU I'm looking at.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115095

Thanks for any help! :mixedsmi:
    If government was the answer, it was a stupid question!

What I always do is go to Alien Ware, see the specs for the best rig and go from there.

I'm no expert and won't pretend to know where development of P3D is going, but I would say it's a good choice. As things stand now, it's all about processor speed and cores with minimal load on the graphics card.

SOH-CM-2014
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    V-Ram is a big thing. Alot of people are running out of memory on huge scenery packages, the sims are locking up and crashing. Its traced down to V-Ram, which is video ram in the graphics cards.

Running two high performance, high memory GC's in tandom will help get past this issue.

Remember, these two sims (FSX and P3D) are both 32bit programs, so they can only use like 6 or 8 gigs of RAM (regular memory RAM). So using 32 Gigs of RAM with a Windows x86 OS is just not going to help.

Bill
    Humble Poly bender and warrior of Vertices

Alienware Console i7 3770 CPU 3.40 GHz / 16 Gigs of RAM / GTX660 GC w/2 Gigs of VRAM / Windows 7 64 Ultimate
    Running 3X Samsung 840 SSD HD's, 200 Gig each, 500/500 Read/Write

32 bit software can only use up to 4 Gbytes RAM, even if the OS (windows) is 64 bit. The OS can use UP to 2 GBytes RAM. The safest choice is to use 8 Gbytes RAM. That way, the OS and ancillary software (anything that gets loaded with windows) have over 4 Gbytes of RAM to play with, and P3D (or FSX) has 4 Gbytes to use for its own.

SOH-CM-2014
    The land where dust is manufactured and people are high temp tested!
    Quote Originally Posted by ZEUS67 View Post