Curious cause for computer crashes?

Thread: Curious cause for computer crashes?

Curious cause for computer crashes?

I'm new to Win7, having given up XP64 a few weeks back. XP was stable, Win7 it remains to be seen. Something about it worries me and I really consider this "malware"...

Charter Member 2015
    It's safe...leftover from the upgrade to Win 7. Safe to delete apparently.

http://www.google.ie/search?aq=0&oq=...panther+folder
    I fly because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things — Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

I just looked at my directory tree and I have the 'Panther' folder too in my Win 7 Pro set-up so I did some investigating.

Apparently the files in the 'Panther' folder are used during the install phase of either Vista or Win 7 and can be used by experts to de-bug any installation errors which may occur during the install process.

It would appear that it is a legit folder so no need to worry about it. Online reading suggests that the entire folder can be deleted after install but that is at your own risk obviously.

Edit: I see KD beat me to it.
    Larry

I don't have 7 but searching the topic, the consensus is that it is a folder related to Vista. One person wrote..

"...did a google search on "windows/panther" and it turned up a wealth of information. Apparently this is the remaining folder where the log files of the Windows Automated Installation Kit puts it's log files from installing the factory image or OS. It is not virus/mal or spyware in any way. Here is a link where you will find everything you wanted to know about this in excruciating detail "http://www.vistaheads.com/forums/microsoft-public-windows-vista-installation-setup/108675-panther-folder-2.html"..."

Doesn't seem to be malware and several posters had deleted it without problems, but I guess it uses insignificant memory and can be left alone too.
    W10-64 Pro, 3GHz, 16GB Ram, AMD Radeon HD 5570