How Difficult is it to Create Scenery and Add it to FS2004?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How Difficult is it to Create Scenery and Add it to FS2004?

How Difficult is it to Create Scenery and Add it to FS2004?

I am new to scenery creation. I have EZ Scenery trial mode for now, but am considering buying it if I like it and am able to use it properly.

What I would like to do is make State Farm Insurance buildings in Bloomington, IL and ISU/IWU campuses in Normal and Bloomington.
    I gather that might be a very ambitious project? I am familiar with making scenery layout files in CFS2 with existing library objects, but am not familiar with making my own and then adding them to existing scenery in FS2004.

Am I delusional?
    Devildog73

Semper Fi
    "Earned RESPECT seldom needs to demand respect"

Not delusional, just ambitious.

You'll have to learn how to exclude stock scenery items, how to flatten the terrain if necessary, how to make sure the ground textures and possibly the landclass are suitable, and how to make each custom building from scratch. In some cases you can use stock buildings or buildings from add-on scenery object libraries, but however you do it, it's a lot of work. But it should be worth it.

I used to think I'd learn all that stuff and make my own scenery after I retired and had more hobby time, but I've found that in retirement I have less time for hobbies, not more. I still haven't figured out how that happened...

Quote Originally Posted by Mick View Post
    Not delusional, just ambitious.

You'll have to learn how to exclude stock scenery items, how to flatten the terrain if necessary, how to make sure the ground textures and possibly the landclass are suitable, and how to make each custom building from scratch. In some cases you can use stock buildings or buildings from add-on scenery object libraries, but however you do it, it's a lot of work. But it should be worth it.