CFS3 Cockpit design nd building - Can someone hepls?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CFS3 Cockpit design nd building - Can someone hepls?

CFS3 Cockpit design nd building - Can someone hepls?

Hi there friends. Althought being a newbie here i´m a long tome CFS games player and MB as well. Something that always bother me were some CFS3 cockpits, rather basic or poor ( mainly the stock ones ) , when the planes always looked pretty good outside. I´m not interested in Planes 3d modeling but would be fun trying to learn some cockpit design. Can you link me to some good tutorials and / or software?

Thanks in advance

Nel

Unfortunately, I feel it it is much like 3D aircraft modeling: Same tools, same skills, only a different part of the aircraft. Although that may save you from learning to create complex shapes such as wings and the joining of wings and fuselage etc.you still have to learn some basic Gmax modeling and animation skills.

Start with installing Gmax, download the CFS3 aircraft modeling SDK and study the P-47 and Ju 88 that come along with that. I have seen some tutorials but either they used another modeling program or they were not targeted at CFS3. This makes a difference when it comes to animating the gauges etc. See the SDK for the proper naming conventions and animations. Search for 'modeling' or 'building a virtual cockpit' or similar words if you want to find a tutorial. Good reference material, preferably scale drawings, is also a must. Without that, you only have the Mk.I Eyeball to go by (you will have to use that plenty anyway) which make it hard to imagine that the result will be better / more accurate than the stock cockpits if that's all you have - unless you have a serious talent, of course .